Purpose Driven Life, Day 9

Day 9: What Makes God Smile? – The chapter starts out with the line “The smile of God is the goal of your life”. That line really caught me off guard, I really didn’t know what to think. The chapter goes on to remind us that pleasing God is the purpose for our life and how please God was in Noah, he had a heart that loved God above anything else and was obedient…even when he couldn’t see what was coming. The chapter also talks about the five acts of worship that makes God smile:

God smiles when we love him supremely – above everything else, this is the first and greatest commandment

God smiles when we trust him completely – even though Noah had never seen rain before, he trusted God on his word

God smiles when we obey him wholeheartedly – Noah listened and followed God’s instructions to the very last detail.

God smiles when we praise him and thank him continually – in all things give thanks

God smiles when we use our abilities – using our gifts that God has given us.

The question for Day 9 is, “Since God knows what is best, in what areas of my life do I need to trust him most?”

This one is really tough for me because I like to be in control, but I’m also fearful of what the future holds. I need to trust God and know that he’s ordered my steps, I definitely need to trust God and step out of faith much more than I do right now. More specifically, I need to trust God to move me forward in my field and not be scared when he does…always keeping in mind that I’m destined.

Learning to live in the moment,

Shar

Leave a Reply

