Purpose Driven Life, Day 14

Day 14: When God seems distant – Day 14 came just in time for me, as I’ve been going through this lately. This chapter is fitting when you feel “lonely” or far away from God. This chapter talks about how God sometimes distances himself from us in order for us to trust that he’s still there even though we can’t feel his presence. The chapter goes on to say that in every relationship there are times of closeness and times of distance, The chapter also gives us some points to think about such as: Tell God exactly how you feel – Express what’s in your heart, if your hurt or bitter or angry that he’s not there. Focus on who God is – his unchanging nature – He knows what you’re going though and will never give you more than you can bare. One of my favourite lines from this chapter is “Never doubt in the dark what God told you in the light”. Trust God to keep his promises – God promised that he will never leave or forsake you, even in times of “distance” he’s there. Remember what God has already done for you – You have plenty to be thankful for, always remember this.

We have to go through trials to build our faith and trust in God, this allows us to draw near to God and build out faith in him. Today’s question is: How can I stay focused on God’s presence, especially when he feels distant?

As I said at the beginning of this post, I’m dealing with this same exact issues right now. That’s part of the reason why I chose to read this book again. I have a feeling of being out in the “wilderness” and feeling lost spiritually. I know that God is near me, I’m protected and blessed, there’s no doubt in my mind about that. However, my sense of peace is not there like it used to be. In a situation like this it’s hard to stay focused on God’s presence. I stay focused on his presence by praying and writing. Putting my thoughts in paper really helps, I pour my heart out and leave the rest to him.

Learning to live in the moment,

Shar

Leave a Reply

