Purpose Driven Life, Day 16

Day 16: What Matters Most – This is the chapter of Love. Plain and simple life is all about Love, God is love and we are most like him when we show and express love! “Love others as you love yourself”…one of the most basic yet difficult things to do. It’s easier said than done, at least for me it is. Here are the main points of this chapter:

The best use of Life is Love: This should be our top priority in life! Life without love is literally worthless. We must make time for the relationships in our lives, our schedules often get so busy that we push relationships to the back burner until it’s too late. Love lasts forever, people will always remember how you treat them, leave a legacy of love to be remembered by. The love that we show other and our relationships is how God measures our spiritual maturity.

The Best Expression of Love: Love = Time! The most valuable thing you have on this earth is time, it’s priceless and cannot be bought like so many other things. When you give someone your time, you’re giving them love, we give of ourselves when we spend time building relationships.

The Best Time to Love is Now: There’s no time like the present, the Bible says to never tell your neighbour to wait until tomorrow if you can help them today. There is no guarantee that we will be here tomorrow. The best time to show love is now!

Question of the day: Honestly, are relationships my first priority? How can I ensure that they are?

Honestly…sometimes they’re not. I get so busy sometimes that I often don’t even have time for myself. It gets hard sometimes…I’ve missed birthday celebrations, important events and even activities that my son is involved in because I had to work…or had too much on my plate. I can also say that I’ve gotten better though, I’ve made the conscious effort to plan outings and activities with friends and family. As I’ve gotten older, and as I watch my son getting older I realize that time goes by really quickly and I need to cherish everyday that I have.

Learning to live in the moment,

Shar

Leave a Reply

