Purpose Driven Life, Day 23

Day 23: How We Grow – Day 23 talks about the important of spiritual growth, it’s not something that is automatic, it needs to be intentional. The book says “ You must want to grow, decide to grow, make an effort to grow and persist in growing”. Making the decision to be like Christ is not all there is to your spiritual growth, like everything else that you want to be good at, you need to practice.

Spiritual growth is a collaborative effort between each individual and the Holy Spirit, it works with us, not just in us.

In order to change our lives we must change the way we think, every behaviour is motivated by a belief and every action is prompted by an attitude. There’s an old saying “ Watch your thoughts for your thoughts become actions…”, I firmly believe that!

We need to start thinking of others more, be more willing to lend a helping hand…stop being selfish, selfish thinking is the source of sinful behaviour. Thinking like Christ is the heart of what your growth is all about.

The chapter ends off with this little nugget: “Christianity is not a religion or a philosophy, but a relationship and a lifestyle.”

Question for today is: What is one area where I need to stop thinking my way and start thinking God’s way?

One of the ways that I need to start thinking God’s way is my parenting, I often find myself struggling with how to raise my son. I need to start asking God how I should raise him. I always pray and ask God to cover him and to make him a good child, I ask the he makes me a good parent. I feel like I really need to start asking God what steps I need to take, ask for spiritual guidance to be a better mother.

Learning to live in the moment,

Shar

Leave a Reply

