Purpose Driven Life, Day 29

Day 29: Accepting Your Assignment – If you’ve ever struggled with fulfilling your purpose or assignment, this is a good chapter to read. There’s a wealth of insight in just a few pages.

Serving others is the most important assignment that we have as believers. If nothing else, we must learn that we are here to serve God and to do God’s work, after all, we are on his time. The beauty of that is we don’t have to go searching high and low for ways to serve God, you simply have to look around and help out someone who is in need. It could be a small need or a big need, as long as you are able to be a blessing to that person you are serving God!

God has chosen you and me, and all others believers to serve him, there is no greater job that we can do. We must serve the Lord with all our hearts, and do it with a happy heart. There’s no point in serving if you’re not genuine, if you choose to bless someone, do so with a willing heart, the way God does.

Question of the day: What is holding me back from accepting God’s call to serve him?

My fear of the unknown is a big part of this. I know that I want to serve…I’m already in the Social Services field. There’s so much more that I want to do, I don’t know if that’s the direction God will take me. I don’t want it to be something I want to do, but something that he has ordained for me to do. Through the years I’ve learned that where you think you’ll end up is often not where God places you, so…in the meantime I will continue to serve those that are in need with an open heart and know that God will place me where he needs me.

Learning to live in the moment,

Shar

Leave a Reply

