Purpose Driven Life, Day 30

Day 30: Shaped for Serving God – God shaped each of us for a specific purpose, before we were born, we were destined, we were born for a specific purpose. This chapter talks about the five of the factors that help shape us and how God shapes us for ministry.

  • Spiritual gifts
  • Heart
  • Abilities
  • Personality
  • Experience

Shape: Unwrapping your spiritual gifts – these are gifts that every believer gets from God to be used in ministry. Each of us were given a special gift, different from others, your gifts are to bless others, the same way other people are given gifts to bless you.

Shape: Listening to your Heart – In the Bible the term heart is used to describe the bundle of desires, hopes, ambitions, dreams, interests and affections that we have. Your heart represents is the source of all your motivations, what you love to do and care about the most. Your heart is a reflection of you, reveals who you (me) really are. Determines the things we say and do and how we act.

This chapter also talks about serving God from your heart and how to know when you’re doing that. This first thing is enthusiasm, when you love doing something, no one has to motivate you or challenge you to do it, you just do it for enjoyment, no rewards or payment needed. The second thing is effectiveness, are you being effective in what you’re doing? Do you have a passion for what you’re doing? Don’t settle for a job because of the big pay cheque and be miserable, you’re not called for that.

Question for today: In what way can I see myself passionately serving others and loving it?

This is an easy one for me because I’m in transition, about 10 years ago I knew I wanted to be a social worker. However, I needed to get in the job field so I could take care of my son, I took a fast track course to graduate quickly and find a job. I was able to land a job in a field that I had no interest in and have been there ever since. Now 10 years later, I’m going back to school to do what I should have done in the first place. I love helping others, I know in my heart that this is what I was meant to do. I’m a living testimony that money will not make you happy if you don’t love what you’re doing.

Learning to live in the moment,

Shar

Leave a Reply

