Purpose Driven Life, Day 42 *Final Day*

Day 42: The People-Pleaser Trap – In this final chapter of the book we look at the other side of Envy, which is people-pleasing. Much like envy getting caught up in people-pleasing can really lead us astray if we’re not careful. We often cave in to peer pressure because we’re so afraid of rejection, or we want everyone to like us, what we need to understand is no matter what we do, someone is always going to find fault. The simple solution is to do what you feel is right.

A few of the dangers of people-pleasing include things like missing out on God’s will for my life. It’s best to live for God instead of trying to live up to people expectations of you. People-pleasing prevents my faith from growing, fear of disapproval keeps me from taking risks in faith, when the opinions of others take a bigger stake in your life than God’s opinion, you need to reevaluate. Much like envy, people-pleasing leads to other sins, try not to give in to peer pressure. If your friends and the people around you are causing you to deny or downplay your relationship you need to find new people. People-pleasing silences my life message, God is not able to use me until I am able to break free from the fear of disapproval of others.

Here are a few points to break free from the people-pleaser trap:

  • Remember that even God can’t please everyone
  • Remember that I don’t need anyone’s approval to be happy
  • Remember that what seems so important now is only temporary
  • Remember that I only have to please one person (God!)
  • Remember that one day I will give an account of my life to God
  • Remember that God shaped me to be me, not somebody else.

Whose opinion matters most to you? Whose approval are you living for?

Learning to live in the moment,
Shar

 

Leave a Reply

