Journey To Minimalism

I’m starting to feel suffocated by my apartment…I don’t like it. As I look around the things that I have are nice to have, but not necessary. Like many people I’ve spent a good portion of my life collecting things, these things often hold sentimental values or special memories, especially if you have children. I’ve realized that as much as I love these things, they don’t add value to my life, and to be honest, I’m holding on to something that I don’t need or use…something that someone else may be in need of. I’m not a hoarder in any way, I simply have too much stuff.

I have so much clothes I’m embarrassed, clothes that have been sitting in draws for months and years that I will likely never wear again, clothes that can no longer fit my son but I don’t want let go of.

I’m on a mission to minimize and declutter my apartment, my goal is to bless as many people as possible with what I have, things that I don’t want or need. The other goal is to stop buying things that bring no value to my life. It’s so easy to replace one thing with something else once space becomes available. The plan is to get rid of it and not replace it.

My decluttering will start today, I will work my way through every room in my apartment, sell what I can, post to Freecycle or haul it off to Salvation Army. I’m really excited about this journey and look forward to the outcome.

Learning to live in the moment,
Shar

Leave a Reply

