Fish Taco

I had some Basa fish in the freezer that I had no idea what to do with, I really didn’t feel like eating it as is…I wanted to “spice” things up a bit. I decided I would try fish taco for the first time ever…and boy was it good!

After looking around online and finding out what the basics are for a good fish taco, I gathered up my ingredients and got to work.

To marinate the fish I used:
1/4 cup of oil (I didn’t have any olive oil on hand so I had to use vegetable oil)
2 tbsp distilled white vinegar
2 tbsp lime juice (you could also use lemon juice)
1 1/2 honey
1 tsp chili powder
1 tbsp fish seasoning
1 tsp sea salt
1 hole jalapeno pepper

I put the fish in a large freezer bag in the fridge for 30-60 minutes.

IMG_00000679

Contents to marinate the fish

IMG_00000684

I broiled the fish on low for 14 mins, at least until it’s flaky. At about the 9 minute mark I took out the fish and drained off the water that had come out of the fish during the cooking process.

The fish after it's been broiled

The fish after it’s been broiled

IMG_00000681

Contents for the dressing and toppings

For the dressing I mixed together:
Sour Cream
Juice from 1 lime
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp black pepper
1/2 chili pepper thinly minced
Dash of sea salt

Toppings:
I used cabbage (I bought the coleslaw mix from the grocery store)
1 tomato
Green onion (optional)
I also used a little bit of cilantro…big mistake, I’m NOT a fan of cilantro and it tasted really yuck on my taco.

I used both the soft and hard taco shells, my son didn’t want the soft shells.

IMG_00000686 IMG_00000685

The assembling process…

IMG_00000690

Ta daaaa…it was so good, better than I expected.

IMG_00000691

 

I’ll definitely be making this again!

3 thoughts on “Fish Taco

Leave a Reply

