Lactose Intolerant?!?!

Over the last few months I’ve been noticing that I’ve been feeling nauseous from time to time. It didn’t matter what time it was, whether it was in the morning or late afternoon, I had this horrible feeling that just made me want to always throw up.

I started out investigating and writing down what I was eating, at first I thought I had a wheat intolerance or developed some sort of strange gluten allergy after all these years. I stopped eating wheat and anything with gluten for a bit to check out my theory. After testing that theory, I was still feeling nauseous from time to time, I was back to writing down what I ate and figuring out what was going on. I was sitting at my desk the other day and I had my Greek Yogurt, that’s when that annoying nauseating feeling came back. I began tracing back all the times that I felt nauseous and realized that I had also eaten some sort of dairy product around the same time.

My first instinct was how could this happen?!? I’ve been drinking and eating dairy all my life and I love milk :(. After doing some research online, I found out that it’s very possible for individuals to develop an intolerance to Lactose or have Lactase Deficiency later in life. This means our body is no longer able to digest lactose.

I’m not completely sure that this is my issue but I will continue to monitor what I’m eating. Hopefully I can figure this thing out.

Has anyone else had anything like this happen? If so, I’d love to hear about it…and know I’m not alone.

 

Learning to live in the moment…

Leave a Reply

